FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 3, 2022 7:00 PM CAMP ORCHARD HILL

Supervisor Fred Dymond led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Josh Hilstolsky asked about the availability of Os Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, the outside auditors being appointed, the Back Mountain regional officers, and had questions about attending the statewide annual convention.

Sherry Emershaw asked about the relevancy of the Recreation Board.

- 1. Mr. Williams made a motion, seconded by Mr. Dymond, to appoint Mr. Owen as temporary Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams to appoint Richard A. Melvin as temporary Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Mr. Owen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to nominate Mr. Dymond as Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Owen, to appoint Mr. Williams as Vice-Chairman. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Dymond made a motion, seconded by Mr. Williams, to approve the following motions and to recognize the following appointments as a group (numbers 5 through 31.) Mr. Owen abstained on item 8. All other motions carried unanimously.

- 5. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Secretary/Treasurer at an hourly rate of \$19.00 for a 30-hour workweek plus \$40.00 per meeting attended, seven paid holidays and three paid personal days, health and vision insurance
- 6. **Motion** to appoint Richard A. Melvin as Zoning Officer at an annual salary of \$3500.00, plus twenty percent of zoning permit fees, to be paid on a monthly basis and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as Alternate Zoning Officer at a rate of \$69.00 per hour.
- Motion to appoint Osbert Patton as Sewage Enforcement Officer, and David Garvey, and Josef Reese as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officers and to pass Resolution # 01 – 2022, establishing fees, wages, and procedures to be used in connection with the administration of Act 537.
- 8. Motion to appoint Art Owen Jr. as Roadmaster.

FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP REORGANIZATION MEETING

9. Recognition of Road Department wages as set by the 2022 Budget retroactive to January 1, 2022:

Roadmaster - \$25.00 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Equipment Operator** - \$20.45 per hour, 40 hour work week with overtime as needed. **Laborer** - \$15.00 per hour, hired as needed.

- 10. Recognition of paid holidays for full time Road Department as follows: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Good Friday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
- 11. Recognition of full time Road Department additional benefits for 2022: Two weeks paid vacation, seven paid holidays, three paid personal days, five paid sick days, health and vision insurance, clothing allowance.
- 12. Motion to authorize the Treasurers Bond in the amount of \$ 700,000.00.
- 13. Recognition of Brett Slocum as Franklin Township Tax Collector to be compensated at 5% of taxes collected.
- 14. **Motion** to appoint the following Solicitors: Vito DeLuca (Supervisors \$4,000.00 per year plus \$100.00 per hour for extraordinary matters pre-approved by the Supervisors), Eric N. Dingle (Planning Commission \$95.00/hour.)
- 15. **Motion** to appoint Trumbower and Associates as Franklin Township's Engineering Consultant and Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as the alternate engineering consultant.
- 16. Motion to appoint Richard Mooney to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.
- 17. Motion to appoint Frank Hilstolsky as Planning Commission member for a four year term expiring in January 2026. Recognition of the remaining members as follows: Richard Mooney and Sherry Emershaw (term expires January 2024), Pat Perry (term expires January 2023), and Scott Latoski (term expires January 2025.)
- 18. **Motion** to appoint Fred Risch as Zoning Board member for a three year term expiring January 2025. Recognition of Zoning Board members Joseph Senchak (term expires January 2024), and Dale Newman (term expires January 2023.)
- 19. Motion to pass Resolution # 02 2022 which names FNCB and PLGIT as the Franklin Township depositories for 2022.
- 20. **Motion** to adopt the current IRS rate for mileage reimbursement as announced and updated.

- 21. **Motion** to name Berkheimer Associates, Inc. as collector of Earned Income Tax, and Local Services Tax.
- 22. **Motion** to appoint Lisa Blazure as Secretary of the Planning Commission at a salary of \$1200.00 per year, paid on a monthly basis, plus \$40.00 per meeting attended.
- 23. Motion to pass Resolution # 03-2022 Secretary Authorization to release operating disbursements retroactive to January 1, 2022.
- 24. **Motion** to pass **Resolution # 04-2022** Fixing property tax rate for 2022 at 0.6350 Mills retroactive to January 1, 2022.
- 25. Motion to pass Resolution # 05-2022 Fixing township taxes for 2022 retroactive to January 1, 2022
- 26. Motion to pass **Resolution #06-2022** Appointing an independent auditor to perform an audit of the 2021 township financial records.
- 27. **Motion** to authorize PSATS Annual Convention attendance, to authorize reimbursement for all reasonable per diem expenses, and to appoint a voting delegate.
- 28. **Motion** to appoint Ted Dymond as representative and Richard A. Melvin as alternate to Back Mountain Community Partnership.
- 29. **Motion** to confirm Back Mountain Regional Emergency Management Agency officers for 2022 as required by the Intergovernmental Agreement between member municipalities.
- 30. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as PA UCC inspection and enforcement.
- 31. **Motion** to appoint Barry Isett and Associates, Inc. as township Flood Plain Manager at a rate of \$65.00 per hour and Property Maintenance services at a rate of \$60.00 per hour.
- 32. Recognition of Recreation Board members as follows: Jim Payne.
- 33. Recognition of township auditors Josh Hilstolsky (term ends January 2026) and John Hilstolsky (term ends January 2028.)

The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Dymond, seconded by Mr. Williams. The January Regular Meeting of the Board of Supervisors was convened.

Richard A. Melvin, Secretary/ Treasurer